Goldie

Chihuahua x Pug

Available for adoption!

To my prospective family,

Here are a few things that you should know about me. The vet thinks I am somewhere around 8 or 9 years old. I have been told that I am part Chihuahua and part Pug but there is something else in me that nobody is really sure about. I am 22 pounds of pure muscle. I have had at least one litter of puppies in the past and I am the most lovable girl you will ever meet. Even though I look grumpy most of the time, I am really sweet and love to snuggle. My foster mommy holds me in her arms on my back like a little baby. That makes me so very happy and I will even give her a little smile when she rubs my belly and fall asleep in her arms. I like to sleep in bed with my foster mom and foster brother and sisters but when they move around a lot I get frustrated and go sleep in my bed instead. I love to snuggle under the covers but when I get hot I will flip off my blanket.

I got spayed in July and on August 31st I had surgery on my eyelids so that my eyelashes would stop scraping my corneas. I am not totally blind, I can see a little bit and I have no problem getting around. I can even climb up and down stairs! I am potty trained, all you need to do is tell me to go potty and I will listen to you. I am also trained to use a wee pad. I am a very good little girl, but if you leave me alone in the house for too long I may have an accident. Please don’t get mad at me if I do, I try very hard to hold it but sometimes I just can’t help it. I will usually tell you when I have to go out by going over to the door and sitting. I am not big on barking unless another dog barks first. It took a couple weeks before my foster family even knew that I could bark!

I get along very well with my Chihuahua foster siblings and a very nice Great Dane came to visit for a few days and I got along with her as well. I’ve not been around any kitties since I’ve been here, but there are some cats in the neighborhood and I like to sniff them out. I won’t chase after them, I just want to know who has been on my turf. I also love my foster mommy’s 3 year old grandson. He is very gentle with me and I like to protect him. I love to play with toys that have squeekers in them but you shouldn’t let me play with toys that have stuffing in them because I will rip them apart and try to eat the stuffing. I also like playing with tennis balls. If you bounce one in front of me I will get it and throw it back to you. I like to go on walks, and if you don’t have a yard for me to go potty in, you will have to tell me to go potty when we walk.

I really hate going for drives in the car. It upsets my tummy, I have accidents and I will make a huge puddle of drool. My vet said that I have motion sickness and gave me some medicine for long car rides but I will still drool a lot when I take them. If you ask me if I want a treatie, I will come right over to you and wait very patiently until it is my turn and I will take the treat out of your hand very gently. My foster mommy makes me homemade dog food and I love it very much! If you aren’t able to make me food, don’t worry, I will eat soft or crunchy dog food as well. I am not food aggressive and I will love your forever if you share you lettuce with me!

I am a very good companion. I will follow you everywhere that you go. I will do best in a home where you are home with me all day or at least have a friend for me. I don’t really like to be alone. I am very scared when I hear thunder or fireworks and I will not leave your side when they happen. I am not very big on giving kisses but when you get home and greet me I will give you one or two kisses and rub my head all over you. If I really like you, and you make kissing noises I will give you one little kiss. I do however, love it when you give me kisses, ear rubs, butt rubs and most especially, belly rubs.

If you are lucky enough to become my family, I will bring you a lot of joy. My foster family loves me very much and their hearts are going to break when it is time for me to go  but we all want me to have a family that can give me a furever home.

I am looking forward to meeting you,

Goldie a.k.a. Girly Girl

About Me

  • Sex Female (spayed)
  • Size Small (19 lbs)
  • Age 8 years, 9 months old(approx. DOB May 1, 2009)
view more details

Good with other dogs? Yes
Good with cats? Unknown
Good with children? Unknown

Location

Currently fostered in Marietta, Pennsylvania. (Transport is available)

Health Info

  • Vision Vision impaired(Cause: Dry eye)
  • Health Notes
    Goldie has dry eye. Her ears are great, we'll just do a weekly drop to make sure. Goldie needs surgery on her eyelids so her lashes stop rubbing her corneas, a few teeth pulled, and she will be spayed on June 5th. She has a very large vulva that will need to be monitored for growth, but her hair loss is improving (I make my dog food with coconut oil which is great for their skin and coats).

Adopt Goldie

Goldie is looking for her forever home. If you think it could be yours, read more about Adopting from BDRA before submitting your application below.

Sponsor Goldie

BDRA relies on your donations to rescue blind dogs around the United States. Please consider giving in support of Goldie.

Latest Updates

No updates yet! Email adoption@blinddogrescue.org if you have any questions.